Borneo Monkeys

    Borneo Monkeys

    Borneo is the third-largest island in the world after New Guinea (the second largest) and Greenland (the first largest island). Being at the heart of Maritime Southeast Asia, Borneo hosts many types of monkeys. This beautiful island is owned by three Asian countries: Brunei, Sarawak, and Indonesia.

    Abbott’s Gray Gibbon, Bangka Slow Loris, Black-crested Sumatran Langur, Bornean White-bearded Gibbon, Proboscis Monkey, Silvered Langur, and Western Tarsier are a few of the monkey species endemic to Borneo island.

    Borneo Monkeys and Apes

    Let us explore all Borneo monkeys here.

    Black-Crested Sumatran Langur

    Species Name: Presbytis melalophos
    Native Countries: Indonesia,Borneo
    The black-crested Sumatran langur (Presbytis melalophos), also called the Mitred leaf monkey, is a primate species in the Cercopithecidae family. The black-crested Sumatran langur, Raffles' banded langur, Sarawak surili, and black-and-white langur were formerly considered subspecies of Presbytis melalophos.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here