Types of Animals

    Types of animalsFrom the biological classification perspective, animals belong to the kingdom called Animalia. They are eukaryotes and multi-cellular living organisms. Animals are locomotive (i.e., ability to move around), heterotrophic (i.e., consume organic material as a source of food), and reproduce sexually (with the exceptions of asexual organisms). The study of animals is called Zoology.

    Here are the different types of animals in the animal kingdom:

    Types of Animals

    • types of mammals


      Mammals are vertebrates within the class Mammalia which have a neocortex (i.e., higher brain functions), hair, three middle ear bones, and mammary glands. Explore different types of mammals in the animal kingdom and their characteristics.
    • birds


      Birds are a collection of warm-blooded vertebrates within the class Aves, identified by feathers, toothless, beaked jaws, the laying of hard-shelled eggs, a four-chambered heart, and a well-built yet lightweight skeleton system. Explore different types of birds in the animal kingdom and their properties here.
    • Reptiles


      Reptiles are four-limbed (aka tetrapod) animals within the class Reptilia. Discover different types of reptiles in the animal kingdom and their characteristics here.
    • Amphibians


      Amphibians are cold-blooded, four-limbed vertebrates within the class Amphibia. Explore different types of amphibians, their habitats/ecosystems, diets, evolution, and characteristics here.
    • Fishes


      Fishes are the aquatic animals within the class Anatidae that do not have limbs with digits. Identify different types of fishes, their habitats, diets, predators, fun-facts, and characteristics here.
    • Insects


      Insects are the largest group of six-limbed (aka hexapod) invertebrates within the class Insecta. Explore the world of insects here.
    • Crustaceans


      Crustaceans are a large, diverse group of arthropods (i.e., segmented body with jointed-limbs) within the class Crustacea. Explore the universe of crustaceans here.
    • Arachnids


      Arachnids are another joint-legged (8-legs) invertebrate animals (arthropods) within the class Arachnida. Click here to explore the world of arachnids and their characteristics.
    • Echinoderms


      Echinoderms are marine animals classified under the class Echinodermata. All echinoderms in adult form contain radial symmetry (e.g., sea stars). Discover different types of echinoderms and their characteristics here.
    • worm


      Worms are animals with a long cylindrical tube-like body with no limbs. Check out different examples of worms and their unique properties here.
    • Mollusks


      Mollusks are invertebrate animals within the class Mollusca in the animal kingdom. At present, about 85 thousand species of mollusks are recognized & properly classified. Learn more about them here.
    • Sponges


      Sponges are bottom-dwelling sea creatures within the class Porifera in the animal kingdom. They do not have tissues; Their body does not have symmetry like humans. Discover more about sponges here.

    Cite This Page


    BioExplorer.net. (2023, October 03). Types of Animals. Bio Explorer. https://www.bioexplorer.net/animals/.

    BioExplorer.net. "Types of Animals" Bio Explorer, 03 October 2023, https://www.bioexplorer.net/animals/.

    BioExplorer.net. "Types of Animals" Bio Explorer, October 03 2023. https://www.bioexplorer.net/animals/.



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here