Forget Me Not

Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis sylvatica) is a perennial plant native to the provinces and northwestern states of Canada and the United States.

Forget Me Not Flowers

In 1949, it was declared the state flower of Alaska. It was meant to represent perseverance, a quality that distinguished the early pioneers of Alaska. The Myosotis genus belongs to the Boraginaceae family (borage) and has 150 to 200 species[1].

Forget Me Not Flower

A true forget-me-not is a sprawling, medium-sized wildflower that is around 2 to 6 inches tall. The leaves are elongated and measure 2.5 to 5 cm long.

Forget Me Not Flowering Plants

These dark green leaves are often sessile, have a profoundly sunken midrib, blunt tips, and are surrounded with fine hairs.

Forget Me Not Flowers

The radially symmetrical blooms are light blue with vibrant yellow centers. They are usually arranged in rounded and divergent racemes along the branch.

Myosotis Sylvatica

Cite This Page

APA7MLA8Chicago (2023, September 30). Forget-Me-Not. Bio Explorer. "Forget-Me-Not" Bio Explorer, 30 September 2023, "Forget-Me-Not" Bio Explorer, September 30 2023.
Key References
  • [1]“Plantlife :: Forget-me-not (common)”. Accessed November 09, 2021. Link.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here