Order Falconiformes / Falcons


Order Falconiformes

Birds in Order Falconiformes are highly efficient deadly predators. A perfect prominent example of this order is Falcons. All birds in this order have several unique characteristics which are listed below.

Suggested Reading: Birds of Prey

Order Falconiformes Characteristics

  • Virtually all falcons have hooked bills that help tear up the prey.
  • Nearly all of the species in the order have strong legs and feet with sharp talons.
  • Falconiformes have well-developed sight and hearing.
  • The birds in this order kill with their beaks, not their talons.
  • These birds have brown eyes (unlike eagles, who have golden eyes);
  • Many Falconiformes species are endangered.

Falconiformes Aves

Here are some typical representatives of Falconiformes:

  • Peregrine falcon, Falco peregrinus.
  • Common kestrel, Falco tinnunculus.
  • Black Caracas.
  • Crested Caracara.
  • Fox Kestrel, Falco alopex.
  • Merlin, Falco columbarius.
  • Laughing falcon, Herpetotheres cachinnans.
  • Lined forest falcon, Micrastur gilvicollis.
  • Spot-winged falconet, Spiziapteryx circumcincta.
  • Pygmy falcon, Polihierax semitorquatus.

Cite This Page

BioExplorer.net. (2021, September 22). Order Falconiformes / Falcons. Bio Explorer. https://www.bioexplorer.net/order-falconiformes/.
BioExplorer.net. "Order Falconiformes / Falcons" Bio Explorer, 22 September 2021, https://www.bioexplorer.net/order-falconiformes/.
BioExplorer.net. "Order Falconiformes / Falcons" Bio Explorer, September 22 2021. https://www.bioexplorer.net/order-falconiformes/.

Key References

  • [1] – “Falconiformes – falcons, hawks, eagles, ospreys | Wildlife Journal Junior”. Accessed June 12, 2019. Link.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here